A Brief History of Kent United Methodist Church
Kent United Methodist Church is a congregation with a rich heritage; a vital present-day ministry; and a dynamic vision for the future.
- In 1855, the first “circuit riding” Protestant missionary in the Greater Seattle area, the Rev. David Blaine, preached the first sermon in a pioneer home here. (He was the founding pastor of Seattle’s First Methodist Episcopal Church.)
- From 1860-1876, the congregation was served by “traveling” ministers from the Seattle Circuit, and in 1877 the Rev. B. J. Sharp was appointed as pastor.
- The first church building was constructed in 1883 on First Avenue South and was later moved to the corner of Central and Meeker
- In 1909, a larger, new building took the place of the original church at the same location.
- In 1970, the sanctuary on East Hill was built.
- The fellowship hall and educational facilities were completed in 1980, to provide opportunities for expanded ministry to the rapidly growing community.
- In 1997, additional classroom space, better known as the “Quad”, was completed. In recent years we have added additional staff to handle our expanding ministry to people of all ages and we have recently remodeled our offices, library and music room.
- Forty-eight pastors have provided leadership over the years.
We welcome people with diverse backgrounds, interests, and needs. We’re a supportive community where people are spiritually nurtured. We provide opportunities for people to be involved in their church and its ministry. We’re involved in social and mission outreach within the community and the world.